The Foundation Board


Kofi Annan, 1938 - 2018

Kofi Annan, 1938 ‐ 2018

Founder | Ghana

Founder and Chair, Nobel Peace Laureate and Former Secretary General of the United Nations.

Jenö Staehelin

Jenö Staehelin

Chair ad Interim since September 2018 | Switzerland

Former Permanent Representative of Switzerland to the United Nations in New York (2002-2004); former Permanent Observer of Switzerland to the United Nations (1997-2002).

Nane Annan

Nane Annan


Nutrition advocate, artist, and former lawyer, Nane Annan is the widow of the late Kofi Annan.

Diego Hidalgo

Diego Hidalgo


Founder and Honorary President of FRIDE, Founder of the Club of Madrid and President of DARA.

Elisabeth Lindenmayer

Elisabeth Lindenmayer


Director of the United Nations Studies Programme at Columbia University’s School of International Public Affairs.

Carlos Lopes

Carlos Lopes


Chairman of the Audit and Finance Committee, Visiting Fellow at the Graduate School of Development Policy and Practice, University of Cape Town, South Africa; former Executive Secretary of the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa.

Thoraya Obaid

Thoraya Obaid

Saudi Arabia

Former Executive Director of the United Nations Population Fund and former Under-Secretary General of the United Nations (2000-2010); Member of the Saudi Shura.

Oluseye Oduyemi

Oluseye Oduyemi


Former Director of Management, United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD).


  • Alan Doss

  • Michaelene Kinnersley

    Head of Partnerships
  • Li Ling Low

    Head of Finance and Administration
  • Genna Ingold

    Communications Officer
  • Bijan Frederic Farnoudi

    Head of Communications
  • Chiara Caimi

    External Relations and Research Associate
  • Stephanie Lewis

    Travel and Logistics Manager
  • Tesfai Tecle

    Senior Advisor on Food Security
  • Sébastien Brack

    Head of Programme Elections and Democracy
  • Sofia Anton

    Programme Officer Transitions to Peace and Promoting Youth Leadership
  • Natalie McDonnell

    Project Manager and Annan Legacy initiatives
  • Declan O’Brien

    Programme Coordinator Elections and Democracy
  • Maud Roure

    Head of Programmes Transitions to Peace and Promoting Youth Leadership
  • Fabian Lange

    Programme Coordinator Combatting Hunger and Elections and Democracy
Some Kofi Annan Foundation staff members posing for a photograph on a staircase in 2018.